Introduction of Down
Introduction of Down
Home > Introduction of Down

Understanding of the Feathers (Down)

Known as feather which means the waterproof feathers mainly from goose and duck, it is called waterfowl feathers by Europe and Japan. It is different from the feather of chicken or other birds living on the land.
Strictly speaking, there are two major categories for feather:
One is called the feather root which has different length according to the part of growing and has appropriate flexibility and strong compression usually be filled into pillow. The second one is called down which is shaped like the fiber ball growing under the root close to the muscles of belly and wings and it only has 8% of the entire body with light texture and good flexibility. It is the ideal raw materials for making clothes and blanket.

Incredible feather

Waterfowls like goose and ducks do not have to trim up during summer, and the waterproof function protected them to forage under the water without getting wet. Thanks to the feature, they can freely living outdoor for the entire year. The differences between the feather (down) and other raw material for making bedding product are as follows:
1. The fiber is shaped “Three-dimensional” which can contain a large amount of air for warming the body.
2. The feather comes from waterfowls which has multiple air holes for exhaling the humidity and has the natural dry effect.
3. The feather has natural regulatory function for adjust to different temperature.
4. Protected by oil, it has long duration and the fiber can be dissolved naturally without pollution.

 

The Characteristics of Down

1. Light and tender:
It is shaped as spherical fiber with light and tender texture which is the lightest material in the world. Down-filled blanket has only 1/3 weight comparing to traditional blanket and it will not cause compression to cardio-pulmonary organ and promote blood circulation which is the most suitable product for children, pregnant women, elderly or patients who suffered cardiovascular disease.
2. Thermal:
Down has thousands of triangular nodes which can absorb numbers of air for preventing heat lost. Therefore, the snow suits or sleeping bag for mountain climbing are regularly filled with down.
3. Regulatory function
The body exhales around 170cc water while sleeping plus the high humidity climate of Taiwan with around 82%~90% humidity, and the both factors make the blanket accumulating too much humidity and causing diseases. Down filled blanket can rapidly discharge the humidity and automatically adjust the temperature reaching the regulatory effect. It also can prevent the occurrence of diseases such as rheumatism, arthritis, neuralgia, and eczema.
4. Flexibility:
Flexibility is the soul of a down filled product which also has other characteristics like warming, regulatory, moisture proof, and light. Comparing to cotton, wool, and synthetic velvet-dimensional, the down has the most efficiency which is testified and confirmed by Europe, USA and Japan as the best thermal materials.
5. Economic and Valuable:
The fiber of down will never hardened or deformed which can be preserved for over 15 years under proper use. Hence, it is a very valuable bedding for a life time.

 

The Concept of LOHAS

LOHAS (Lifestyles of Health and Sustainability) is a concept of health and sustainability which is perfected matched and practiced by down filled product.
1. Carbon Footprint:
Comparing to other filled material such as chemical fiber and etc, down product has lowest carbon emission.
2. Dissolvable:
While collocating with pure cotton cover, the down as the filler can still be dissolved after discarding.
3. Protecting the resources of earth
Feather (Down) is the by-product of livestock and it can be discarded while useless.
4. Saving energy
Wearing a good down filled product can reduce the use of air conduction.
5. Lightness
Down is the lightest and warmest material in the world.
6. Natural Product
Non-chemical fiber material and all came from waterfowls.
7. Reusable
Petrochemical fiber is processed from non-renewable oil, however, feather (down) can be renewed and reusable.
8. Security
To make sure the clearness of down, it has to be processed under high-temperature sterilization and drying up. Adding with anti-velvet fabric makes it resistant to bacteria and dust mites than other chemical fibers.
9. Outstanding Warmness
Comparing to other filler used 1g as one unit, down has better effectiveness than other materials.

羽絨介紹
羽絨介紹
首頁 > 羽絨介紹

認識羽毛(絨)

一般通稱的羽毛,指可游水而不沾溼的羽毛,主要為鵝毛、鴨毛,歐美日諸國之稱為水鳥羽毛,有別於不會游水,且會沾溼的羽毛,如雞等陸鳥羽毛,所以會有落湯雞之稱。
嚴格說來,羽毛要再細分為二大類:
一是羽根,為葉狀纖維體,依其生長部位,長短不一,具有適當彈性,抗壓力強,故常做為枕頭的材料。二是羽絨,為球狀纖維體,在羽根下層,緊貼著腹部及翅窩的肌肉生長,只佔全身羽毛的8%,質地輕柔彈性好,是最理想的衣被材料。

不可思議的羽絨

鵝鴨等水鳥,夏季不必剪毛,冬季下水覓食「不沾濕」「不畏寒」,一 年四季自由自在生活於戶外,此乃受覆蓋於身上的羽絨(毛)所賜。羽絨與其他寢具材料不同之特點如下:
1.屬「水禽類」纖維呈特殊"立體狀",是其他自然纖維所沒有,能保留大量的空氣,溫暖身體。
2.屬水禽類抗潮力特佳。纖維上無數氣孔據吸溼排溼作用,具有自然「乾爽」效果。
3.羽毛具有適應不同氣溫變化之自然調節功能,有「冬暖夏涼」功用。
4.有油脂保護耐久性長,纖維可分解,無污染,沒有環保問題。

羽絨的特性

1.輕柔性:
羽絨為球形纖維,質地輕柔,為世界上最輕之材質。羽絨被只有傳統被1/3重,因此對於心肺器官不會產生壓迫感,並可促進全身之血液循環。最適宜小孩、孕婦、老人或有心血管疾病之患者使用。
2.保暖性:
羽絨本身有千萬個三角形nodes,可以吸收大量空氣,而空氣為熱之不良導體,所以可避免冷空氣穿透與體溫的流失。故登山所使用的雪衣或防寒睡袋,內填充物均為羽絨。
3.濕度調節性:
人體在睡眠狀態下,每晚排出約170cc水份;且台灣為亞熱帶海島型氣候,相對濕度高達82%~90%,因此一般之被褥在使用一段時間後,即會累積過多的水氣,形成病媒滋生的溫床。羽絨可引領人體排出的濕氣,並快速的發散排出,且能自動調節被內的溫度,達到冬暖夏涼效果;亦可預防風濕症、關節炎、神經痛、濕疹等疾病的發生。
4.發放性(彈性):
彈性係數為一件羽絨製品的靈魂所在,其有保暖、調溫、吸濕、輕柔等功能。同級重量之羽絨、棉花、羊毛、合成絨維,在彈性與保溫之試驗下,羽絨皆佔最高的量率,此一實驗證明了在歐美日等先進國家均已被確認羽絨為最佳的保暖製品原料與主流。
5.經濟性與價值性:
羽絨為立體狀的纖維永不變硬、變形;一件羽絨被若妥善使用,可保存使用15年以上,故非常的經濟實用,為人生必備之寢具,長久保值!

 

LOHAS概念

(Lifestyles of Health the and Sustainability) 樂活是一種健康、環保的概念,羽絨製品最能符合此精神的生活態度,更是具體實踐愛地球的實際行動。
1. 碳足跡
羽絨製品比起其它填充原料如化纖…等擁有最低的碳排放量。
2.生物可分解
當羽絨原料與純棉被套搭配使用時,及使丟棄後仍可迅速被分解。
3.保護地球資源
羽絨(毛)原料為畜產之副產品,當不使用時即當作廢棄物丟棄。
4.節省能源
當您使用一件好的羽絨製品其保暖效果可降低您對空調使用性。
5.輕量化
羽絨是世界上最輕、保暖性最佳的材質。
6.天然產品
非化纖原料,皆來自於為水禽身上。
7.可再生使用
石化纖維皆從非再生石油所加工,而羽絨(毛) 最大差異性為可再生重複使用。
8.安全性
生產過程中高溫殺菌烘乾,確保羽絨的清潔性並有效清除細菌,加以防絨面料的使用更比其他化纖製品能抵抗細菌塵蹣。
9.優越的保暖性
若以每1公克為單位與其他填充原料相較,其保暖效果優於其他原料。